• jounniy@ttrpg.networkOP
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    2
    ·
    1 day ago

    Okay. But do you actually allow any use of the spell that’s not as originally intended? Because some things are technical applications of the rules which rely on rules working as intended but still in very specific way without breaking the game at all.

    • starman2112@sh.itjust.works
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      1
      ·
      edit-2
      1 day ago

      Sure. The line is somewhere between “I cast minor illusion to make an image of a cabinet, and hide inside of it” and “I cast Shape Water to freeze that guy’s blood.” In the former case, the spell never says I can’t hide inside the illusory object. Clever, useful, not game-breaking. In the latter case, the spell says a creature can’t be inside the water, but it never says the water can’t be inside the creature! Bad, shame, you lose all your spell slots until the next long rest

      • jounniy@ttrpg.networkOP
        link
        fedilink
        arrow-up
        1
        ·
        23 hours ago

        The last one is actually covered by it I’d say, because (as by rules of spell targeting) you cannot see the blood and furthermore (as confirmed by “Water breathing” not working in wine) spells that affect water really only affect water and that’s it.

        I know you mean it as a joke, but in my experience, punishing a player for trying to find out what you will and won’t allow them to do is a good way to get players that don’t want to be creative. Just tell them that you will not allow it. (Also… poor Mystra for having to waste that much divine power on someone trying to use spells in a way it can’t be used in anyway.)

        If everyone at your table is habilitated fun, then… well, have fun, but I’d advise against it.